Also known as the Castle of Kefalonia, the castle was built 800 years ago on a hill 320 metres high, at a distance of 7 km NA of Argostoli. The Castle used to be the capital of Kefalonia for centuries. From 1500 the Venetian conquerors of Kefalonia built, in the 16 acres of the Castle, public buildings such as headquarters, residence of the Prophet and advisers, barracks, warehouses, prisons and tanks. Due to the excellent strategic location of the Castle, within a perimeter of 600 meters from the walls, ramparts and watchtowers, on a clear day they could locate pirate ships up to a distance of 20 miles. The local population and nobles lived in the settlement (borgo), where mansions, orthodox and catholic churches were housed and with schools where renowned teachers taught. In 1757 the Venetians decided to move the administrative headquarters from the Castle to, insignificant until then, settlement of Argostoli with the aim of developing trade. The inhabitants followed resulting in a decline in growth. Currently the Castle has been partially restored and is a pole of attraction of the island. With the panoramic view of the sea, the mountain and Argostoli, it offers visitors a wonderful view of the area.